Tags

I spend an inordinate amount of time in cafes. I’m at home there, be it Starbucks, a dingy, damp nook with rickety stairs in the middle of Kensington Market or a small town, cozy version of Luke’s Diner (if you must know, it’s a reference from Gilmore Girls). I’m one of those people you’ll encounter at these places, wielding my laptop bag, my tote, a big book and often my keys as I hone in on that perfect table – close to a window, even closer to a power outlet and perfectly positioned to see the traffic coming in and out of the store. I just get a lot done there – the comfort of strangers, being surrounded by the energy of people, without having to, you know, actually converse. It’s my version of alone time, when I need to get away from friends and family, and be able to think. People seek out nature. I seek out the comforts of a good cafe. Weird, eh? But there you have it.

Anyway, I’ve been thinking of some of my favourites in California. Places that for some period of time became my “home away from home”.  Sadly, because I live in Mississauga, there aren’t too many options outside of Starbucks, Tim Hortons and Second Cup. While I appreciate all three, and love at least two of them, I think I still prefer quirky, independent coffee places. Anyway, if you guys live near any of them – go at least once, for my sake 🙂 I’ll live vicariously through you 😀

  • Red Rock Cafe, Mountain View, CA
  • Proliic Oven, Santa Clara, CA
  • Barefoot Cafe, Sunnyvale, CA
  • Cafe Main, Pleasanton, CA
  • People’s Cafe, Berkeley, CA
  • Blue Rock Shoot, Saratoga, CA
  • Boardside Cafe, Danville, CA
  • Mission Coffee, Fremont, CA


