Tags

, ,

A few months ago, my friend M threw a fondue party that hit all the right notes for a Saturday evening: a small, intimate group of friends sitting around a table in an harmonious circle, delicious cheese and chocolate fondues, constantly-flowing wine and conversation. Given that these were a group of people that I was hanging out with on a pretty regular basis since I’d moved to Toronto, I figured the time was right to get to know them a little bit better. So I asked them that soul-baring question:

What is your comfort food?

The answers had cheese and crackers of course. And wine. Oh, and chocolate.  But some of them were truly surprising, and eye opening.  But what was even more fun for me was to realize how passionate, and bashful people can get when describing their comfort foods. Learning the whys and hows and whens of something became their comfort food gives you great insight into the person: eating when no one is there, things you make only for yourself, which may or may not sound appealing to others –  your emotions are tied to it so strongly that it can get hard to separate the food from the feelings.

Mine usually varies with my emotions too but can be narrowed down to the following:

  • When feeling indulgent Option 1: Nutella on darkly toasted white bread 
  • When feeling indulgent Option 2: Elbow pasta with cut up chicken franks and diced potatoes, and mozzarella cheese
  • When I’m out and about, and need a quick bite without thinking about it: Chicken shawarma
  • And when i’m super stressed or feeling like I hate everyone/everything: Pizza Hut’s stuffed crust pizza with ground beef

(Coke is a staple regardless of what meal I’m having,so maybe that should be called my ultimate comfort food). For me, my comfort foods aren’t trendy or gourmet. They will never be featured on any James Beard winner’s menu. Or even served on an airplane unless specifically requested. But they make me feel good, and I truly love them.  Make of that what you will 🙂

But I’m curious – what are some of YOUR comfort foods?

