Tags

,

Speaking of comfort foods,  how about the not so comforting ones? Turns out that one of my friends loves  boiled duck tongue. It’s *his* comfort food. 

You may be forgiven for falling off your chair. Boiled duck tongue?! (Insert appropriate number of exclamation points) 

Oui, mon ami. Boiled duck tongue. 

I didn’t even know such a thing existed. For some reason, it never occurred to me that ducks might have tongues. Or that they could be edible. In hindsight, I don’t know why I was so surprised. After all, people eat things like chicken’s feet, lamb’s brain, cat dumplings, horse meat, chocolate covered grasshoppers, snakes. Duck tongues aren’t that exotic now, are they?

But I was truly curious. At least to see the process. 

So a few weeks ago, when we went over to that same friend’s house for a Game of Thrones viewing party, he made us duck’s tongue. 

Raw duck tongue

Cola Flavoured marinade for the duck tongues

Boiling the duck tongues in the sauce and water

Voila – ! Ducks’ Tongues!

Now, sad to say, I was not brave enough to try it. But my other friends who tried it liked it, and said they were chewy and crunchy.  In hindsight, I’m disappointed with myself. I know, I know – chicken-hearted lily-livered coward is my middle name, so I shouldn’t be surprised at my reticence. But still, it would have been nice to shake off my apprehension and try a bite. Or even two.  I suppose that will be my challenge for 2013, when I blog about “Millimetering my way towards exotic culinary adventures” and re-emerge as the Fearless Eater! 🙂 


